How to enable Compiz on Ubuntu 7.10 if your Graphics Card is Blacklisted

After initially installing Ubuntu Gutsy Gibbon 7.10 on my computer, I had wanted to enable Compiz to get the cool desktop effects like the Wobbly Windows. So, I went to System > Preferences > Appearance and to the last tab. Here you choose Normal or Extra from the menu to enable Compiz. I clicked on Normal and it came up with an error saying I couldn’t enable it. After that, I did some Google searching and soon found out that my ATI graphics card was on the Compiz blacklist. I’ve read about how to enable it and thought I would write a short tutorial to enable Compiz if your graphics card is too, blacklisted. (Note: This method involves editing system files so if you are uncomfortable then use at your own risk.) (Also note: Your graphics card is blacklisted because it means that it uses a restricted driver that can also be enabled.)

First open up the terminal and type

sudo gedit /usr/bin/compiz

Then the text file should open up. Scroll or use the find command to search for the words “ATI.” Then there should be some lines with Intel chips and ATI chips, choose which one you have and delete it. If you are unsure, take each line out one at a time and cut it into another blank text file until you have figured out which card you have. Then go back to System > Preferences > Appearance and enable Compiz on the last tab. Enjoy! 🙂

Also, posted in the Compiz Fusion Wiki is the correct way to use Compiz if your graphics card is blacklisted.

~ by soccerislife8 on February 6, 2008.

One Response to “How to enable Compiz on Ubuntu 7.10 if your Graphics Card is Blacklisted”

  1. Thanks very much for the entry 🙂

Leave a comment